Store Restrup Manor House is situated outside Aalborg. The old, beautiful manor house is surrounded by forest and park. The area has been inhabited since the Stone Age. The halls are good examples of Baroque style, which was predominant in the 17th century, when Count Christian Levetzau built the present main building, after the Northern War in 1723.
The Tapestry Room is beautifully decorated with French tapestry from 1815. The Theatre Hall can hold up to 300 seated guests and offers the ideal environment for many events. There is a bar, terrace, scene and balcony.
The manor house provides the perfect setting for festive occasions. Store Restrup Manor House is the ideal venue for weddings, christenings, birthday and family parties, board meetings, seminars, workshops and many other occasions, with capacity for up to 300 guests.
The wine cellar and interior design shop are open Saturday afternoon.
The wine tasting takes place in the wine cellar where the guests have the possibility to taste 5 selected wines from our own production and from import. The price is DKK 150.00 per person.
AttractionsNorth Jutland Museum of Modern Art:North Jutland's Historical Museum:
From 1403 until 1460, Henrik Knudsen Gyldenstjerne was the owner of Restrup. Over a dispute with the rural dean on Thyholm, Henrik Gyldenstjerne burnt down his house, however, he escaped punishment. In return, Gyldenstjerne had to pay the rural dean 1.000 Lubeck marks and it took him 20 years to pay off the debt to the dean. Henrik Gyldenstjerne was a member of the Rigsråd and vassal on Ørum in Thy.
In 1460, Knud Henriksen Gyldenstjerne, the son of Henrik Knudsen Gyldenstjerne, succeeded to his father's property. Knud was also a member of the Rigsråd and beside Restrup, he also inherited Bygholm Castle and Horsens City.
Through marriage, he became the owner of three others manors: Wedellsborg, Enggaard and Rugaard. After his death in 1517, Store Restrup manor remained in possession of the widow Karen Billes until 1530, when her son Gabriel Gyldenstjerne inherited the manor.
During the civil war in Denmark, Skipper Clement, also known as the leader of peasants, defeated the army of aristocrats at the village of Svenstrup near Restrup and plundered and burnt down the manor. After the war, Gabriel Gyldenstjerne built a new manor house with three wings and bell tower.
In 1685, Hans Frederik von Levetzau bought Store Restrup and in 1696, his son Christian Frederik von Levetzau took over the manor. In 1751, he became count of the entailed estate Restrup, which consisted of Restrup manor, Albæk, Torstedlund, Aastrup and Overklit. Christian von Leventzau took part in the Northern War as commander for the Jutlandic cavalry in Norway. He also built the north-westerly wing of Amalienborg Palace as his winter residence as well as the present building at Store Restrup, which was finished in 1723. However, he was not a gentle master. According to the legend, on Christian von Leventzau's last journey to Sønderholm church, the devil sat on his coffin. It is also said that night time one can meet the count's carriage pulled by coal black horses on the strech between Restrup and Albæk.
The widow Sophie Hedevig died in 1775 and Restrup was inherited by their nephew, Iver Rosenkrantz Levetzau. Iver's wife laid out a big park in French style close to the main building. In 1779, Iver exchanged Aastrup and Overklit with Nørlund. In 1782, at his wife's request, Iver established a chapel in the main building. The halls in the main building were beautifully decorated with paintings and French tapestry made before 1815. The succeeding owner, Siegfred Victor Raben Levetzau dissolved the estate in 1811 and entailed the Raben Leventzauske estate.
In 1990, doctor Ann Lokdam and forest supervisor Gorm Lokdam acquired Store Restrup manor house and after comprehensive restoration, Store Restrup opened as a hotel with restaurant, wine cellar and interior design shop.